One for the Grill: Chicken Parmesan Burgers

Standard

My husband handles the grill, but I handle the menu.  So when I came across the pin for chicken parmesan burgers from Annie’s Eats, I knew it would be a great idea for burger night.

I don’t know what it is about ground chicken burgers, but I like them much more than ground turkey burgers.  I kept the basic form of this recipe from the source at Annie’s Eats, but I added some of my own twists to it.

Chicken Parmesan Burgers:

(Makes 4 burgers)

I mixed the chicken through the olive oil together in my kitchen aid, and then divided it into 4 patties.  As you form your patties, squeeze them firmly to get out all of the air pockets.  I took Annie’s advice, and refrigerated the patties (for about an hour) before grilling.

1 lb. ground chicken

1/4 cup shredded parmesan

1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs

2 tsp. Italian seasoning

1 tbsp. chopped fresh basil

2 tbsp. Italian Parsley

2 cloves minced garlic

1/2 tsp. onion powder

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp. olive oil

6 ounces sliced baby portabella mushrooms

2 tablespoons butter

4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup pizza or spaghetti sauce

4 Kaiser rolls

We kept them on the grill until the internal temperature was 170 degrees.  As my husband watched the grill, I sauteed sliced baby portabella mushrooms in butter.  We topped them with shredded mozzarella cheese, the mushrooms, and Trader Joe’s pizza sauce.  My husband and Christopher had theirs on kaiser rolls.  I had mine on a bed of baby spinach (it makes this dish a little lower in carbohydrates), and His Majesty had his patty and toppings cut up in smaller chunks.

They were delicious.  We can’t wait to make these again.  If you want them a little spicier, you can add 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the burger mixture, but honestly, it was delicious like this.  And, it’s a twist on the traditional burger night.

We’re always looking for new burger recipes around here.  Do you have any favorites that you can share?

Leave a Reply

