Y’all Come Back Now

Standard

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned that our birthday party menu included Comeback Sauce.  When I read about it on Pinterest, I was intrigued, because I’m very much a condiment person.  I love dijon mustard, and avocado paste on my sandwiches, A-1 on pretty much anything, I can (and have) eaten salsa with a spoon, and I basically treat vegetables like a simple means of shoveling hummus and French onion dip into my mouth.  So, I figured the party was a perfect time to take this Comeback Sauce on a test run.

The recipe comes from Jackie, a Southern Belle living down in Florida at a sight called Syrup and Biscuits.  She sounds like my kind of lady: retired nurse, author, gardener, and a family woman who appreciates the little things in life that make it good.  Plus, she wrote this awesome and funny Southern Speak Translation Dictionary that I wish I had seen 7 years ago when I transplanted myself down here in good ol’ N.C.  I should print out a few copies of Jackie’s translation dictionary and stick them at rest areas when you cross the Mason Dixon Line; I could consider it my civic duty.  I could definitely get down with having her as a friend and neighbor, especially if anything else she makes is as good as this Comeback Sauce.

It can’t possibly be any easier to make either.

To make a pint sized Mason jar full, Jackie says you’ll need:

1 cup mayonnaise (Jackie recommends that you use Duke’s mayo, so that’s exactly what I used)

1/4  cup ketchup

1/4 cup chili sauce  (not thai chili sauce, just regular old chili sauce, in the aisle with the mayo, dressing, Heinz 57 sauce, etc).

1 heaping teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon Tabasco sauce

1/4 cup light olive oil

juice of one lemon (I used 2 tablespoons of lemon juice)

Put all of those ingredients in a bowl…

and mix them all together until they are well blended.

That’s it.  Then you just pour your well blended concoction into a container in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavors blend together.  I put mind in a Mason jar because, well, Jackie did, and because, to be honest, I’ve come to learn that pretty much everything can go in a mason jar.  Candles? Yep.  Spices? Of course.  Matches? Sure.  Crayons? Why not.  Flowers?  Uh-hum. You get the point.

I put the sauce out at the birthday party to accompany the sandwich platter, but Jackie says that it is also good as a veggie or chip dip, a salad dressing, and a sauce for seafood.  My husband said that it reminded him of “Big Mac sauce, only way better”.  Christopher dipped his sandwich in a big pile of it.  My friend Don, whom I referred to as my “work husband” until we both retired, gave it praise as well, and his wife (a lovely true Southern woman herself) is an amazing cook, so any compliment that he gives my kitchen concoctions is always well received.  Plus, as easy as this sauce was to make, it seems suitable that I should keep some on hand to serve in the future.

Comeback Sauce.  It’s as easy as that!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

