Funfetti Dip

Standard

Remember when I told you that I made another recipe for the play date last week?

It was Funfetti Dip, from Shannon at Adventures in Food.

Shannon finds, and creates, some amazing things, and several of them use Funfetti boxed cake mix.  Funfetti pancakes, waffles, or cinnamon rolls, anyone?  Check out Adventures in Food for those recipes and more, including a bunch of ideas for making baby food, and more than a hundred toddler tested and approved items!

This dip was so easy!  But since Shannon only made a small amount, I used a recipe multiplier from Lots of Kids to quadruple the recipe and make 8 servings… then I got distracted in conversation and added an extra scoop of yogurt, so to fix my mistake, I doubled THAT, and wound up making 8x more than Shannon, or about 16 servings…. Good thing we liked it!

It’s easy.  All you need is yogurt (I used plain, but the recipe said you can use vanilla), Funfetti cake mix, and whipped cream or cool whip… which I didn’t have.  But I did have whipping cream… And I was going to whip it in the mixer… so I figured, why not.

To make the 16 serving batch, I used:
3/4 cup Dry cake mix

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1/4 cup whipping cream (or, if you’re a better planner and follow the original recipe, you can use 1/4 cup cool whip or whipped cream)

I whipped them up together in my mixer bowl until they were well blended, and looked like cake batter.

Then I served them (in that cute little heart shaped bowl) with pretzel chips.  My friend Emily said that the pretzel chips were good just for the purpose of moving the dip into her mouth 🙂

It was an easy recipe to make, and a sweet treat.  You can serve it with any crackers that you want, of course, but I like the salty/sweet combination with the pretzels.  I’m sure I’ll make this again in the future, probably trying it with the actual ingredients recommended.

If you need a quick, easy, sweet treat, it doesn’t get much better than cake batter.

5 responses »

  1. I think I will try this with Naturally Nora’s Alotta Dits cake mix, Stonyfield yogurt, and some whippin’ (whip it good!) cream. My kids will go bonkers and I will credit YOU for the introduction. Thank YOU!

  2. Pingback: Staying on Track: Goal Assessment « Very Pinteresting

  3. Pingback: Batter Up! Another Swing at Cake Batter Dip! « Very Pinteresting

Leave a Reply

