Bacon Ranch Chicken: A crock pot masterpiece

Standard

Is there anything that bacon can’t make better?  Our state fair actually puts bacon on a stick and covers it in chocolate.  I’ve never tried it, but I tell you, I love bacon enough that someday, I might be willing to give that concoction a taste test.  Ironically enough, I didn’t eat meat for nearly 15 years, and so I honestly think that my propensity to eat large quantities of bacon is my body’s attempt to make up for all of that lost time.

As the name implies, Bacon Ranch Chicken couples bacon with another food miracle: ranch dressing.  Seriously: ranch on a sandwich, ranch on veggies, ranch on chef’s salad, ranch on pizza, yum-yum-yum, ranch is pretty much universally applicable to non dessert dishes.  Lucky us, this dish has both ranch AND bacon.  Plus it goes in the crock pot and takes less than 4 hours.  Are you kidding me?!  In my house, this is perfection.

It doesn’t get much easier than this.  First, you get yourself some boneless skinless chicken breast, and gather the rest of the ingredients.  You could probably use chicken thighs if you wanted to.

Ranch dressing packet, minced garlic, sour cream, cream of chicken soup, bacon bits

Put the chicken in the crock pot.

Don't forget your crock pot liner, unless you want to spend a half hour scrubbing out the crock pot tonight!

Then mix up the other ingredients (sour cream, soup, garlic, ranch mix, and bacon bits) in a separate bowl, so that all of this deliciousness is thoroughly combined.

Now here’s the hard part.  Spread it all over your chicken, scraping every last bit out of the bowl, cover and set your crock pot on high for 3-4 hours.

I always test my chicken to be sure it has an internal temperature of 165 degrees F.  After verifying that it’s reached a safe temperature, I use two forks to shred the chicken breast.  It falls apart really easily.  The sauce will be nice and creamy, like an Alfredo sauce, only better, since it is made with bacon and ranch.  I served it over egg noodles with garlic toast and a salad on the side for my guys, and I skipped the noodles and the bread, saving myself some carbs. It’s great either way.

This recipe made enough for 3 generous servings, a toddler sized serving, and had enough left over to put in my husband’s lunchbox for the next day. I silently pouted while I packed the leftovers up for him. The sacrifices we make for our loved ones 😉

Have you added bacon or ranch to anything lately and had it rock your socks off?  If so, you know I want you to share the recipe.  Or, have you made Bacon Ranch Chicken for your family?  What did everyone think?

Happy pinning!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Staying on Track: Goal Assessment « Very Pinteresting

Leave a Reply

