2012 Blog To Do List

Standard

I won’t call these my “resolutions”.  Why?  Because I have a bad history with making, and keeping up with, my resolutions. Plus, I already have my resolution picked out for this year.  It’s the same resolution as last year, since I failed so badly at meeting my goal in 2011: I’m going to drink more water.  Last year, I probably drank about 1 cup of water to every CASE of diet pop that I sucked down.  Shameful, I know.  But, last year, I didn’t have a set plan for how I was going to go about meeting my goal, I only said that I was going to drink more water.  This year, I have an actual plan.  I have decided that I’m going to drink one 32 ounce cup of water BEFORE I drink anything else in the  morning, and then another 32 ounce cup starting at dinner time. It took me 3 hours to drink my first cup today, but I eventually got it down.  When I finally finished that cup of water, I was so full, I couldn’t drink my Diet Pepsi for almost an hour.  Perhaps I’ll be able to achieve a secondary gain, that being, drinking less pop. But let’s not get ahead of myself here, it’s one day into the new year.  So far, so good.  One day at a time…

Drinking more water is the only “resolution” that I set for myself, at least in terms of self improvement, for the upcoming year.  Lord knows I can stand to improve in many areas, but my official New Year’s Resolution is to drink more water.  Any other self improvement measures, I’ll add throughout the year.  I think they’ll feel more genuine that way.

Even though I only have the one resolution this year for myself, I did jot down a little To Do List for my blog.  Calling it a To Do List is much more practical for me, since I love the feeling that I get when I tackle a list.  I make a list almost every day, for what I’m going to clean, what must be done versus to what I’d like to get done, what we need from the store, what calls I need to make, appointments, etc.  I get a lot of personal satisfaction from crossing off tasks that I’ve completed.  I would estimate that my success rate at finishing a list is roughly 100x greater than my success rate at keeping my New Year’s Resolution.

Here’s what I’m going to do this year in terms of Very Pinteresting:

1.  Write at least 52 posts in 2012. That’s an average of once a week. Some of you may think this is a puny goal, but the truth is, as much as I love to write, I love to create  and cook and hang out with my friends and family more, and I don’t want to feel like writing is something I HAVE to do. I want it to always be something that I WANT to do.  So, I want to spend more time DOING stuff, and hold myself to actually writing about something only about once a week.  I’ll do my best to make them good posts, though.  Got something you want to see me try to make?  Send me a message at verypinteresting@gmail.com, or leave me a comment below and I’ll see if my skill set matches your request.

2.  Try 24 new recipes.  That’s two new recipes a month.  I got two great Christmas gifts this year that will give me extra incentive to check this item off my list.  One is a Kitchen Aid mixer, which I’ve wanted to get for years, but until this year, I wasn’t really the type of cook that needed one, and the other is The Stocked Kitchen, which I first heard about over on Patty’s blog (I actually received two copies of this book this year, which I think is the universe telling me that I need to use it!).  Between these two gifts, plus a board full of great stuff to try, I have no excuse for finding new things to cook. So, you can look forward to seeing some more edible treats.  Are there any dishes that you want me to try?  Let me know, and if there’s a chance that my family will enjoy it, I may make it one of my 24 new recipes!

3.  Read and review 6 books.  Isn’t that weak?  I love to read.  My idea of Heaven is a huge room stocked with every single book ever printed, with ladders to climb to the top shelves (because ladders are safe in Heaven, right?), and every person that I love right beside the books, enjoying whatever their favorite activities are, but available to chat or visit, or read beside, whatever I want.  And big fluffy recliners to sit in while I read.  And lots of diet Pepsi. Kind of like a party in a library, but with soundproof rooms off to the side so that I can have silence to dissolve into a book if I want to have some solitude.   So, if I love to read, why such a small goal, why only six books?  Well, like all of us, I keep pretty busy with my family, and unless I am a passenger in the car for an extended period of time, I tend to read in brief snippets, sometimes going so long between picking a book back up that I have to reread portions to bring myself back up to speed.  In addition to reading six books, I finished two books over vacation and I am working on reviews for, which means that I will actually review eight books in 2012.  Here are five books that are already on my 2012 list:  Still Alice, The Help (I think that I’m the last person in my county to read it), The Secrets of Happily Married Women, You Don’t Sweat Much for a Fat Girl (by my favorite author, Celia Rivenbark), and 101 Things You Should Do Before Your Kids Leave Home.  If you have a book that you think should be my #6, please let me know so that I can add it to my board.

4. Complete 5 sewing crafts.  I really want to improve my sewing skills, because there are many things that I want to create. I want to sew a backpack for a favorite little girl for her 2nd birthday.  I want to sew a messenger bag for myself.  I want to try to make play food for His Majesty. I want to make these adorable dishtowel thingees to coordinate with my kitchen.  And I want to make decorative pillows, or pillow covers, for my family room.  Got any good sewing tutorials? Please, send them my way!

5. Make 5 wreaths.  There are so many wreaths that I want to make, I can’t even try to pick a favorite right now, but suffice it to say I’ll be showing you my version of several of them in 2012.

So, that’s it.  That gives me 42 items to create and write about (if you count the two books that I’ve already read and still want to review), and leaves me 10 remaining items to fill in as the year goes by, in order to meet my goal of 52 posts in 2012.   Help me fill in my remaining items by sending me your suggestions.

Do you think I can finish everything on my Blog To Do List? Do you make a yearly To Do List?  If so, what’s on it?

7 responses »

  1. I am EXACTLY like you with the water to soda ratio. I am 100% certain that Diet Cokes are what has made my tummy humongous, but for some reason I cannot seem to cut them out!
    Great book list! The sweaty one sounds funny. Must let us know how it is! I still love “The Other Boleyn Girl” and “Sarah’s Key” if you are still looking for another idea!

    • It is SO easy to suck down a Diet pop compared to a cup of water! I can’t believe how something that seems so simple can be such a challenge! I will pin both of your book suggestions, thank you so much for offering them up 🙂

  2. Pingback: Staying on Track: Goal Assessment « Very Pinteresting

Leave a Reply

