Word Play Wednesday: Thanksgiving Shouldn’t Be Over

Standard

I know that the holiday observance of Thanksgiving was last week.  I watched many of my friends dutifully post status updates every day in November leading up to the big day, citing what they were thankful for.  24 days of “I’m thankful for” XYZ’s.  Lovely.  And then, on November 25th, the statuses changed to what they were scoring on the torturous and horrible custom of Black Friday, how terribly “sick” they were with fall colds, and how annoying it was to get the knots out of the Christmas lights.  Talk about doing a one-eighty.  So, when I came across this quote from Somewhat Simple, I thought, HOW APPROPRIATE.  Here it is, from Somewhat Simple (which has some great ideas for crafts, gifts, dates, jewelry, you name it, so check it out for some amazing (p)inspiration) :

"Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our Thanksgiving" (W.T. Purkiser) Image from Somewhat Simple

How true, right? After all, we can SAY how thankful we are for our health, but if continually neglect our bodies and our minds, how are we actually BEING thankful?  We can SAY that we’re thankful for having the opportunity to be at home with our children, but if we allow ourselves to be frazzled and rushed and bitter about all of the work that comes along with being at home with our children, how are we BEING thankful for the opportunity we have been provided?

So, while the holiday of Thanksgiving may have passed, the ACT of Thanksgiving should be ongoing, long after the holiday season has ended.  Here’s how I am showed my Thanksgiving this week:

1.) I have consciously stopped playing on the internet while my husband is home in the evenings.  I’m thankful for my wonderful life partner, who spoils me and adores me, so the least I can do is give him some undivided attention during the precious hours that he is at home in the evenings.  My husband knows how valuable my time is to me, and he appreciates that I am willing to give him some of this highly treasured commodity.

2.)  I have watched Christopher’s basketball practices.  I know that they’re not the actual games, but I think he likes to have me there, watching him, seeing how his skills improve.  He practically glows when I comment on some shot or skill that I observed during his exercises.  That kind of self esteem boost shouldn’t be reserved for the small number of games that his team will play this season.  I’m thankful for my oldest son, and for the fact that he’s still so innocent, and kind, and that he still likes to hang out with his parents, so the least I can do is return the favor and take every available opportunity to hang out with him.

3.)  I have dropped what I’m doing, whenever possible, to read His Majesty the same books, over and over and over again, even when it means that the pasta will surpass al dente status, or when I am folding a mound of laundry. I’m thankful for my sweet youngest son, and for the opportunity to be his primary caregiver.  When he says “Mama, sit” in his commanding, yet sweet, voice, I sit, and we read.  As much as he wants.

4.)  I have called my mother.  Twice.  We don’t always get along, but I’m thankful for my mother, truly thankful for the woman who brought me into this world, and I need to make sure that during the days of our lives, nothing positive goes unsaid between us.  Even if our conversations are interrupted by her talking to her dogs, or arguing with “Sarah” (her GPS), or when she tells me she’ll call me back and doesn’t, I need to make the effort to nurture our relationship.  She’s the only mother I’ll ever have.

5.) I have addressed and filled out all of our Christmas cards, including little personal notes for our friends and family members.  Some people don’t send cards anymore, and I didn’t get moving fast enough this season to order photo cards, so I myself almost didn’t send anything this year.  However, I think that it’s thoughtful to receive cards, and since I’m thankful for my friends and extended family, I took the effort to let them know that I am thinking of them, write notes in each card that pertains to the recipient, and sign them with a loving message.  It took time, but that is a small price to pay to show how thankful I am for them, and to hopefully make a far away friend or relative smile.

So, friends, I KNOW that you’re thankful, but what have you done, or WILL you do, to show thanksgiving for the wonders that fill your life?  Don’t let another year pass before you remind yourself of all the blessings in your life.  Show your appreciation for them every day!

One response »

Leave a Reply

