Carve-acious Creations!

Standard

Our family’s big decisions this weekend were centered around pumpkins.  Should we paint them or should we carve them?  We debated the merits of both, drawing pinspiration from so many sources that it made our heads spin. Talk about fun, there are endless ideas, and some of them were way more intricate than the triangle eyes, nose, and mouth that my parents lovingly carved for us when my brother and I were kids.  Check out this clown pumpkin, is it not adorable? I would never come up with this sort of stuff on my own, gotta love the internet.  After much debate, we decided on two different carved designs: a cyclops and a cannibal.  The cannibal pumpkin is from a blog post entitled Halloween Dos and Don’ts, which positively cracked me up when I read it.  The cyclops pumpkin is from a blog called Lines and Color, which is all about, you guessed it, lines and color.  It has posts about all types of art, from comic books to painting, if you are looking for eye candy to feed your right brain.

Anyway, we already had pumpkins from our visit to a pumpkin patch, and now we had our pinspiration narrowed down.  Check, check.

Then came the yucky part: Cleaning them out.  Bllleegggg, the squishiness of the pumpkin guts makes me want to rub my skin off, so naturally, this was a perfect job for my Christopher.  I’m raising the boy up right, teaching him to kill the spiders and to take the guts out of the pumpkins. Future daughter-in-law, you are most welcome.

Then we drew (very rough) outlines of the carvings on the pumpkins with a dry erase marker.

We don’t own any fancy pumpkin carving kits, and I questioned how well we’d be able to carve the details on the tiny pumpkin.  My husband, always the thinker, came up with a great idea: He broke out the drill and the jig saw to get this job done. I’m sure millions of people have gone this route, and it makes so much sense that I honestly don’t know why my husband has never thought to use power tools on pumpkins before, but I’m glad he did this year, because it sure saved us a lot of time.

He used the drill to carve the mouth portion of this pumpkin, and as an added benefit, it pulled out some of the seeds on the way out, making it look like the pumpkin was throwing up.  Pretty cool, eh?  Yeah, we thought so, and we left it like that for effect.  He used a regular kitchen knife to remove the skin on the pumpkin to shape the eyes.

Then he fired up the jig saw and carved the large pumpkins.  The jig saw saved us a considerable amount of time, and we basically only had to use a knife to fine tune the carvings. Well inside of an hour later, we had these beauties:

We used toothpicks to secure the nose to the cannibal pumpkin, and to hold the smaller pumpkin inside of the larger pumpkin’s mouth.  Here’s how they look in the dark.  I’m pretty happy with how they turned out, despite the fact that you can’t see the terrified expression on the pumpkin that is “being eaten” 😉 Cyclops looks awesome when he’s all lit up though, so I was pretty excited to see how he turned out.

Christopher also put his right brain to work and assembled a pumpkin of his own.  I say assembled because he didn’t exactly carve it, and he used a pretty creative accessory.  Can you tell what it is?

Vampire teeth!! Isn’t that creative?  He cut the eyes and nose out of pumpkin bits that we’d removed from the larger pumpkins, and then anchored them with toothpicks. (Crafty kid we’ve got, huh? He was excited when I told him I’d post this picture of his pumpkin on the internet for him.)

So there you have it. Our Carve-acious Halloween creations.  Happy Halloween!  If you have pictures posted of your own carve-acious creations, post links to them, I’d love to see (and pin!) them!

Leave a Reply

